South Africa without Van Wyk, Kgatlana for Botswana clash

Banyana Banyana will be without a number of their top stars when they take on Botswana in a crucial 2020 Tokyo Olympic Games qualifier later this month.

Injured skipper Janine van Wyk is joined on the sidelines by CAF African Player of the Year Thembi Kgatlana, while midfielder Linda Motlhalo will stay with her Chinese club Beijing BG Phoenix.

There are recalls for defender Nothando Vilakazi, midfielder Leandra Smeda, and strikers Jermaine Seoposenwe and Rhoda Mulaudzi, who all missed the recent COSAFA Women’s Championship success due to overseas club commitments.

Goalkeeper Mapaseka Mpuru has also been recalled to the squad and will compete with regularsAndile Dlamini and Kaylin Swart for a starting place.

There is no place in the side for Congolese-born forward Ode Fulutudilu though, as she is one of four players dropped from the successful COSAFA selection along with Ongeziwe Ndlangisa, Priscilla Pesa and Shange Sthembile.

Vice-captain Refiloe Jane is expected to lead the team in the absence of Van Wyk.

The first leg of the tie will be played in Gaborone on August 30, with the return at the Dobsonville Stadium on September 3.

If Banyana advance they will play the winner of the tie between Zambia and Zimbabwe in the next stage, with one of Gabon, Ghana, Malawi or Kenya waiting after that.

Only one team from Africa will automatically qualify for the Olympics this year, with another facing a play-off against South American side Chile to also book their berth.


South Africa squad:

Goalkeepers: Andile Dlamini, Kaylin Swart, Mapaseka Mpuru

Defenders: Lebogang Ramalepe, Noko Matlou, Bambanani Mbane, Nothando Vilakazi, Tiisetso Makhubela, Bongeka Gamede

Midfielders: Mamello Makhabane, Busisiwe Ndimeni, Refiloe Jane, Kholosa Biyana, Noxolo Cesane, Robyn Moodaly, Leandra Smeda

Strikers: Jermaine Seoposenwe, Amanda Mthandi, Rhoda Mulaudzi, Hildah Magaia