Zimbabwe name provisional squad for DR Congo clashes

SuperSport United forward Evans Rusike has been ruled out of Zimbabwe’s back to back qualifiers against DR Congo on 13 and 16 October in Kinshasa and Harare respectively.

Bidvest Wits’ Terrence Dzvukamanja will replace him. Rusike sustained an ankle injury and prognosis revealed that he may be out for approximately three weeks.

The Warriors striker was replaced in the dying stages SuperSport United’s MTN8 final loss to Cape Town City on September 29.

Rusike started Zimbabwe’s previous match against Congo and was involved in the build-up to the goal which was scored by Khama Billiat.

Warriors coach Sunday Chidzambga named the Warriors provisional squad which includes Nottingham Forest’s Tendayi Darikwa who recently became eligible to represent Zimbabwe after acquiring identity documents.

Darikwa is one of several players of Zimbabwean origin who have declared interest to play for the Warriors. Those expected to be eligible for selection soon include Macauley Bonne (Leyton Orient), Kelly Lunga, Kundai Benyu and Adam Chicksen.


Provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: George Chigova, Bernard Donovan, Edmore Sibanda

Defenders: Ronald Pfumbidzai, Teenage Hadebe, Alec Mudimu, Tendayi Darikwa, Kevin Moyo, Byron Madzokere, Eric Chipeta, Divine Lunga

Midfielders: Marshal Munetsi, Danny Phiri, Tafadzwa Kutinyu, Marvelous Nakamba, Talent Chawapihwa, Leeroy Mavunga, Richard Hachiro, Ovidy Karuru,

Strikers: Knowledge Musona, Khama Billiat, Knox Mutizwa, Terrence Dzvukamanja