Zambia name 24-man local training squad ahead of COSAFA Cup

Zambia caretaker coach Aggrey Chiyangi has named a 24-man locally-based squad to begin preparations for the 2019 COSAFA Cup to be staged in Durban from May 25-June 8.

The players will link up for the camp on Sunday in Lusaka, before returning to their domestic teams on Wednesday, and arriving back in camp next weekend.

Chiyangi will put the players through their paces as he builds towards the regional showpiece competition, where Zambia have finished as runners-up in the previous two tournaments, losing on both occasions to Zimbabwe in the final.

The squad is likely to have a strong local influence as players are given the opportunity to showcase their quality to watching scouts from around the world, but should also include the likes of Orlando Pirates duo Justin Shonga and Augustine Mulenga, as well as a number of other overseas-based players.

Forest Rangers midfielder Webster Muzaza and striker Austin Muwowo have both been rewarded for their fine form this season with maiden call-ups to the national team, while there is also a return for Chitiya Mususu of ZANACO after two years on the sidelines for Chipolopolo.

Another long-time absentee given the opportunity to stake a claim is Moses Phiri from Buildcon, who has not featured for the national side since 2015.

Zambia will join the competition at the quarterfinal stage where they will clash with the winner of Group B, which includes Mozambique, 2015 winners Namibia, Malawi and Seychelles.

Zambia are four-time winners of the COSAFA Cup but have been to 10 finals in all. Their previous title was in 2013 on home soil.

Zambia won both of the first two editions of the COSAFA Cup in 1997 and 1998, but it took until 2006 for them to claim their third regional title.


Zambia local training squad:

Goalkeepers: Toaster Nsabata (Zanaco), Kelvin Malunga (Nkana), Sebastian Mwange (Green Eagles)

Defenders: Simon Silwimba, Clement Mwape, Mwila Phiri (all Zesco United), Lyton Thole, Gift Zulu (both Nkana), Lawrence Chungu (Zanaco), Adrian Chama (Green Buffaloes), Isaac Shamujompa (Buildcon), Thandi Mwape (Kabwe Warriors)

Midfielders: Benson Sakala (Power Dynamos), Kelvin Mubanga (Nkana), Clement Mundia (Kabwe Warriors), Webster Muzaza (Forest Rangers), Bruce Musakanya (Red Arrows), Ernest Mbewe (Zanaco), Moses Phiri (Buildcon)

Strikers: Austin Muwowo (Forest Rangers), Emmanuel Chabula (Nkwazi), Lazarous Kambole (Zesco United), Chitiya Mususu (Zanaco), Tapson Kaseba (Green Eagles)