South Africa name four new caps in squad for four nations tournament

South Africa have named four new caps in their squad for the four nations tournament against Angola, Zimbabwe and Zambia later this month.

Ajax Cape Town goalkeeper Brandon Petersen, Maritzburg United midfielder Siphesihle Ndlovu, BidVest Wits right-back Reeve Frosler and Lille striker lebo Mothiba are all included..

Coach Stuart Baxter has made 14 changes in all from the squad that failed to qualify for the FIFA World Cup with back-to-back losses against Senegal in November.

Bafana Bafana will play Angola in Ndola on March 22, before meeting either Zimbabwe or Zambia at the same venue three days later depending on the outcome of both matches.

There is also a return for the likes of Phakamani Mahlambi (Al Ahly, Egypt), Aubrey Modiba and Teboho Mokoena (both SuperSport United) and Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs).


South Africa squad:

Goalkeepers: Itumeleng Khune (Kaizer Chiefs), Darren Keet (Bidvest Wits), Brandon Petersen (Ajax Cape Town)

Defenders: Reeve Frosler, Thulani Hlatshwayo, Buhle Mkhwanazi, S’fiso Hlanti (all BidVest Wits), Ramahlwe Mphahlele, Daniel Cardoso (both Kaizer Chiefs), Motjeka Madisha (Mamelodi Sundowns), Innocent Maela (Orlando Pirates)

Midfielders: Dean Furman, Teboho Mokoena, Aubrey Modiba (all SuperSport United), Siphesihle Ndlovu (Maritzburg United), Kamohelo Mokotjo (Brentford, England), Bongani Zungu (Amiens, France), Sibusiso Vilakazi, Themba Zwane (both Mamelodi Sundowns), Thembinkosi Lorch (Orlando Pirates), Keagan Dolly (Montpellier, France), Phakamani Mahlambi (Al Ahly, Egypt)

Forwards: Percy Tau (Mamelodi Sundowns), Lebo Mothiba (Lille, France), Ryan Moon (Kaizer Chiefs)