Sixteen teams from COSAFA countries enter CAF club competitions

A total of 16 clubs from the COSAFA region have entered to compete in this season’s two African club competitions, the Confederation of African Football has confirmed.

They are headlined by the South African trio of Kaizer Chiefs, Mamelodi Sundowns and Orlando Pirates, who are the only COSAFA clubs to have won a continental club title.

Sundown were Champions League winners in 2016 while Pirates won the old-style Champions Cup in 1995 and Chiefs the now defunct African Cup Winners’ Cup in 2001.

Chiefs and Sundown will play in the Champions League while Pirates go into the Confederation Cup.

Another venerable name, Zambia’s Nkana FC, who were Champions Cup runners-up in 1990, return to the Champions League field for the first time in two decades.

South Africa and Zambia are entitled to enter two clubs per competition while the rest only one.

The Eswatini Football Association have indicated they will also be entering a club in each of the two annual competitions but are yet to indicate who they will be, CAF added.

But clubs from Madagascar, Malawi, Mauritius, Namibia and the Seychelles have not entered according to the Confederation of African Football.


Botswana: Jwaneng Galaxy
Comoros Islands: US Zilimadjou
Lesotho: Bantu
Mozambique: Costa do Sol
South Africa: Mamelodi Sundowns, Kaizer Chiefs
Zambia: Nkana FC, Forest Rangers
Zimbabwe: FC Platinum

Botswana: Orapa United
Comoros Islands: Ngazi Club
Mozambique: UD Songo
South Africa: Bloemfontein Celtic, Orlando Pirates
Zambia: Green Eagles, Napsa Stars