RVG names bold 2018 COSAFA Cup squad

Malawi coach Ronny Van Geneugden has lived up to his promise to assemble a strong squad for 2018 COSAFA Cup.

The Belgian coach, fondly called RVG by Malawians, has maintained nine players from the 2017 squad, but bolstered the team with five foreign-based players in his provisional squad that will start camp training on Monday.

Portugal-based striker Richard Mbulu is expected to lead the onslaught in Polokwane, South Africa, as RVG aims at leaving a mark in his second appearance at the tournament.

Lusaka Dynamos’ Dalitso Sailesi is another familiar face after the former Nyasa Big Bullets midfielder’s impressive performance at the 2017 tournament.

He returns to the COSAFA Cup alongside Mozambique-based midfielder John Banda (Ferroviaro de Nampula), another regular at the COSAFA Cup.

It will also be interesting to watch Baroka FC striker Robin Ngalande who will be making his debut at the COSAFA Cup.

The former Atletico Madrid Academy graduate needs no introduction in South African football having horned his skills at Mamelodi Sundowns Academy in the Rainbow Nation, yet he has never show-cased his skills at the regional tournament.

Mozambique -based Chawanangwa Kaonga (Coastal do sol) will also be making his debut at the regional tournament despite having a couple of caps for the Flames.

A press statement from Football Association of Malawi (FAM) general secretary Alfred Gunda stated that the players will regroup at Mpira Village on Monday, May 14.

Coach RVG said he has confidence in the squad he has assembled for the tournament as Malawi aims at taking advantage of the COSAFA Cup to prepare for 2019 African Cup of Nations (Afcon) qualifiers against Morocco and Cameroon in September.

“For me, this is the time for Malawi to prove we are not just a group-stages team,” he said.


Malawi’s full preliminary squad:

Brighton Munthali – Silver Strikers
Ernest Kakhobwe – NMC Bullets
Rabson Chiyenda – NMC Bullets
Richard Chipuwa – Be Forward Wanderers

Stanley Sanudi – Be Forward Wanderers
John Lanjesi – NMC Bullets
Peter Cholopi – Be Forward Wanderers
Chembezi Denis – Be Forward Wanderers
Gomezgani Chirwa – CIVO Sporting Club
Ian Chinyama – TN Stars
Miracle Gabeya – NMC Bullets
Precious Sambani – Be Forward Wanderers


Chimwemwe Idana – NMC Bullets Reserves
Alfred Manyozo Jnr – Be Forward Wanderers
Mike Mkwate – NMC Bullets
Rafick Namwera – Be Forward Wanderers
Levison Maganizo – Silver Strikers


Felix Zulu – Be Forward Wanderers
Chiukepo Msowoya – NMC Bullets
Patrick Phiri – NMC Bullets
John Banda – Ferroviaro de Nampula, Mozambique
Robin Ngalande – Baroka FC, South Africa
Chawanangwa Kaonga – Coastal do sol
Richard Mbulu – ADS, Portugal
Dalitso Sailesi – Lusaka Dynamos, Zambia
Gustin Simkonda – Moyale Barracks
Mphatso Phillimon – Silver Strikers