Namibia storm into quarterfinals with Zimbabwe win

Namibia stormed into the quarterfinals of the COSAFA Cup 2015 with a thumping 4-1 victory over Zimbabwe in their final Group A game at the Moruleng Stadium on Thursday.

The victory lifts Namibia to the top of the table at the expense of Zimbabwe, who have to settle for second and an early trip home.

Namibia will now advance to the Last 8 where they will take on defending champions Zambia at the same venue on Sunday (kick-off 15h00).

The win was achieved after an early goal from Chris Katjiukua settled their nerves, before a brace from Deon Hotto in the second half made the points safe.

Zimbabwe pulled a goal back through Raphael Manuvire from the penalty spot, but Namibia restored their three-goal advantage as Sadney Urikhob blasted home.

The other match in Group A saw Mauritius restore some pride with a 1-0 win over fellow Indian Ocean side Seychelles.

The game looked to be heading for a stalemate before Jean-Pierre Sophie found the back of the net with six minutes to go.

The Mauritians finished third in the pool with their victory.

Friday sees the finale in Group B and it promises to be an equally exciting ending.

Madagascar and Swaziland each have two wins from two and meet in their last game at the Royal Bafokeng Stadium.

Madagascar need just a draw to get through with a better goal-difference, but will be wary of a Swaziland side who have looked very impressive to date.

The other match at the Moruleng Stadium pits Lesotho and Swaziland together in a battle to avoid the wooden spoon.

Neither side has managed a point yet in the competition.

Group A
Namibia 4 (Katjiukua 9’, Hotto 60, 67, Urikhob 84) Zimbabwe 1 (Manuvire 83’pen)
Seychelles 0 Mauritius 1 (Jean-Pierre Sophie 84’)

Group B
Lesotho vs Tanzania (KO 17h00 local, 15h00 GMT) – Moruleng Stadium
Madagascar vs Swaziland (KO 17h00 local, 15h00 GMT) – Royal Bafokeng Stadium

Group A                     P        W      D         L       GF       GA       Pts
Namibia                     3          2          1          0          6          1          7
Zimbabwe                 3          2          0          1          4          4          6
Mauritius                  3          1          0          2          1          4          3
Seychelles                 3          0          1          2          0          2          1
Group B                     P        W        D         L        GF      GA      Pts
Madagascar             2          2          0          0          4          1          6
Swaziland                 2          2          0          0          3          0          6
Lesotho                     2          0          0          2          1          4           0
Tanzania                   2          0          0          2          0          3          0

Matches Played: 10
Goals scored: 19
Biggest victory: Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21)
Most goals in a game: 5 – Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21)

2 goals – Deon Hotto (Namibia), Benson Shilongo (Namibia)
1 – Talent Chawaphiwa (Zimbabwe), Ronald Chitiyo (Zimbabwe), Chris Katjiukua (Namibia), Sifiso Mabila (Swaziland), Raphael Manuvire (Zimbabwe), Mthunzi Mkhontfo (Swaziland), Lantonirina Rabehasinmbola (Madagascar), Martin Rakotoharimalala (Madagascar), Michel Randriamanjaka (Madagascar), Carlos Rusere (Zimbabwe), Xolani Sibandze (Swaziland), Jean-Pierre Sophie (Mauritius), Thapelo Tale (Lesotho), Sadney Urikhob (Namibia), Sarivahy Vombola (Madagascar)