Madagascar set semifinal target in COSAFA Cup

Madagascar have set the semifinals as their target for this year’s COSAFA Cup, looking to again upset the odds and emulate their feats of 2008 and 2015.

“We are well settled. The guys are in shape and we are looking forward to the start of the competition. Our goal in this edition is to go through the group stage and reach the semifinals,” said coach Franklin Andriamanarivo on the eve of the tournament, being played in Polokwane.

“It’s important to give African nations the chance to prove themselves on the continent. COSAFA is a great tournament and is a great opportunity for us to prove our potential,” he said.

Three years ago, the Barea, the nickname of the Malagasy, bucked the odds by taking the bronze medal, defeating Botswana 2-0 in the third and fourth place play-off for their best ever performance since they first entered the COSAFA Cup in 2002.

This year’s squad is made up of players from the home-based clubs.

Captain Andoniaina Andrianavalona believes that it is a group with enormous potential. “Our goal is to go as far as possible. Madagascar has potential and the younger generation wants to progress,” he said.

Madagascar get the ball rolling in this year’s COSAFA Cup against Mozambique on Sunday at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium in the first match of the competition.


Goalkeepers: Jean Dieu Donne Randrianasolo (CNaPS Sports), Andrianirina Rajomazandry (Fosa Juniors),

Defenders: Andoniaina Andrianavalona (CNaPS Sports), Mario Bakary (Fosa Juniors), Johny Rafelambolasoa (ELGECO Plus), Ronald Rajaonarivelo (CNaPS Sports), Theodin Ramanjary, Patrick Ratahinjanahary (Fosa Juniors), Tobiasoa Njakanirina Sandratriniaina (CNaPS Sports),

Midfielders: Andriamirado Aro Andrianarimanana (Fosa Juniors), Jaotombo Bourahim, Lalaina Jacquot Manampisoa (both CNaPS Sports), Jean Claude Marobe (Fosa Juniors), Michael Rabeson (CNaPS Sports), Jean Rakotoharisoa (Fosa Juniors), Tsito Miravo Razafinfrasata, Tsiry Mirado Razafinfrasata (both AS JET MADA)

Forwards: Angelo Andreas Andrianantenaina (AS Adema), Mario Carlos Ravelomanantsoa (both AS JET MADA), Andriamanjato Tokifandresena (Ajesaia).