Kenya name coach, provisional squad

Kenya have announced that experienced coach Richard Kanyi will lead the side to the 2017 COSAFA Women’s Championship, where they have been invited as a guest nation at the 12-team Southern African tournament.

Kenya began their preparations on Sunday for the September 13-24 tournament to be staged in Bulawayo, Zimbabwe, where they have been placed in Group B along with Swaziland, Mozambique and Mauritius.

Kanyi takes up the role as a replacement for David Ouma, who has been elevated to the position of deputy technical director at the Football Kenya Federation.

Ouma had led the side to the silver medal at the regional CECAFA Women’s Championship in Uganda last year.

Kanyi will be assisted by Mary Adhiambo and gets his reward for leading the Thika Queens to the domestic championship earlier this year.

Strikers Neddy Atieno (military training) and Mwanahalima Adam (exams) are back in the provisional squad for the competition having missed recent matches, but not included is leading forward Esse Akida, who has taken a sabbatical from the game.

Kenya will have high hopes of lifting the COSAFA Women’s Championship and will be among the pre-tournament favourites.

They start their campaign against Mozambique at the Luveve Stadium on September 14.


Provisional Kenya squad:

Goalkeepers: Vivian Akinyi (Soccer Queens), Jenipher Adhiambo (Mathare United), Jane Achila (Oserian), Pauline Atieno (Makolanders).

Defenders: Wendy-Ann Achieng (Spedag), Irene Ogutu (Oserian), Dorcas Shikobe (Oserian), Doris Anyango (Spedag), Lillian Adera (Vihiga Queens), Gerereder Akinyi (Mombasa Olympic), Juliet Auma (Thika Queens), Esther Nandika (Soccer Queens), Jackline Musula (Mathare).

Midfielders: Carolyne Anyango (Spedag), Cheris Avilia (Spedag), Jacky Ogol (Spedag), Lydia Akoth (Thika Queens), Winfried Achieng (Mombasa Olympic), Winnie Kanyotu (Gaspo), Florence Awino (Gaspo).

Strikers: Neddy Atieno (KDF), Mary Kinuthia (Unattached), Mercy Achieng(Thika Queens), Sharon Bushenei (Spedag), Lucy Mukhwana (KDF), Teresa Engesha (Vihiga Leeds), Phoebe Oketch (Vihiga Queens), Janet Moraa (Nyamira Starlets), Judith Musimbi (Soccer Queens), Mwanahalima Adam (Mombasa Olympic).