Hosts Mauritius name COSAFA Under-17 Championship squad

Mauritius have named their 20-man squad for the COSAFA Under-17 Championships that they will host from July 22-31.

The squad represents the best young talent from the Indian Ocean Island and includes 14-year-old Jerry Begue.

Mauritius will go into the tournament with high hopes and the support of local fans.

They open their Group A campaign against Namibia on Saturday at the Stade Georges V in Curepipe, before later matches against Seychelles (July 25) and South Africa (July 27), all at the same venue.

The top two teams in each pool advance to the semifinals. Group B contains Zambia, Malawi, Madagascar and guest nation Kenya.

Mauritius squad: Christophe Louis, Ken Reine De Carthage, Jeffrey Antoine, Yoan Perticot, Suhayl Hurdoyal, Vashist Calcutta, Emillio Perle, Yannick Aristide, Dawson Sophie, Jerry Begue, Mervyn Leon, Mathieu Moothoosamy, Dany Iron, Desire Catherine, Adriano Mathurin, Adriano Begue, Stephen Far, Matteo Monple, Louis Figo, Adrien Tolbize.