COSAFA to elect new Executive Committee in Windhoek on Saturday

COSAFA will elect a new Executive Committee at its General Assembly which is to be held in Windhoek, Namibia on Saturday 14th May, ushering in a new dawn for an organisation that has gone from strength-to-strength in recent years.

Current COSAFA President Dr Phillip Chiyangwa has indicated he will not stand for a second term having overseen the tremendous growth in the number of tournaments staged during his five years at the helm.

It means new leadership at the very top of the organisation will be elected at a General Assembly which was initially scheduled for late last year.

“The General Assembly should have taken place in December 2021,  but there was the Omicron COVID-19 variant outbreak which made it logistically impossible,” COSAFA General Secretary Sue Destombes says

“The Namibian Football Association and the Namibian government have taken the lead to host this event, for which we are grateful.

“In respect of our Statutes, it’s a General Assembly, but we do have the added agenda item in there for the election of all of our office bearers, from the President right through to the Ordinary Members.

“We’ve got the position of President up for election, the position of the Vice-President and we have five Ordinary Members to be elected this year

“This is ground-breaking, it’s an historic elective General Assembly because it’s the first time that a woman must be elected as one of the Ordinary Members. At least one woman, but there could be more.”

Angola Football Federation President Mr Artur Almeida e Silva is the only candidate nominated for the role of COSAFA President, while the President of the Comoros Football Federation, Mr Said Ali Said Athouman, is the only nomination for Vice-President.

There are eight nominees for the five Ordinary Executive Committee Members, of which one woman must be elected.

They are Mr Timothy Shongwe (Eswatini), Mr Khiba Mohoanyane (Lesotho), Mr Andrianony Victorien (Madagascar), Mr Walter Nyamilandu-Manda (Malawi), Mr Faizal Sidat (Mozambique), Ms Solandranja Mahamatova (Madagascar), Ms Anastasia Tsichlas (South Africa) and Ms Brenda Kunda (Zambia).

Also attending the General Assembly will be various invited guests, including the President of the Confederation of African Football, Dr Patrice Motsepe, and the organisation’s General Secretary, Mr Veron Mosengo-Omba.

“We are honoured to have the CAF President with us, as well as the CAF General Secretary.

We will also be graced with the presence of Mr Wallace Karia, who is the President of CECAFA. Mr Mustapha Raji, who is the President of WAFU A  will also be joining the forum.”

It has also been confirmed that the Zimbabwe Football Association will not be in attendance.

“Unfortunately, the Zimbabwe Football Association is currently suspended by FIFA. Until such time as the suspension is lifted, they are not eligible to take part in any football matters, including this General Assembly,” Destombes says.