Comoros name four new caps in squad for 2019 COSAFA Cup

Comoros coach Abderemane Mohamed has named his squad of 20 players to compete at the 2019 COSAFA Cup in Durban from May 25 to June 8, the fourth time the island nation will appear the regional championship.

Mohamed has included four new caps in the form of defenders Adrine Said Ali and Mohamed Zamir, midfielder Nassim Ali Mchangama and forward Fadhula Corin Batomanga.

Mchangama is the twin brother of Comoros international Nabil Ali Mchangama, who made his national team debut in 2017.

The squad is made up almost entirely of locally-based players, with the one overseas-based star being forward Ibroihim Youssouf, who plays in Namibia with African Stars.

Comoros have been drawn in Group A along with Angola, eSwatini and Mauritius. They will open their campaign against the latter at the King Zwelithini Stadium on May 25.

Comoros are the newest members of COSAFA and made their debut in the 2008 COSAFA Cup in South Africa, where they more than held their own despite going out in the first round.


They collected their first ever win in the COSAFA Cup after victory over Seychelles in the 2009 tournament in Zimbabwe, their second appearance at the regional showpiece.

They performed admirably in that event, also securing a draw against Botswana, but a 3-0 loss to eSwatini meant they bowed out in the first round.

It was an improvement on their first showing in 2008 when they lost all three games without scoring a goal.

They returned to the big stage for the first time in nine years at the 2018 COSAFA Cup, where they managed just a single draw and two defeats to bow out in the first round.

That draw came against Seychelles in their opening game, before they lost to Mozambique (0-3) and Madagascar (0-1).

Comoros squad:

Goalkeepers: Moussa Issihaka, Fahadi Mohamed

Defenders: Djaloudi Salif, Habib Youssouf, Salim Ali, Zamir Mohamed, Bakri Youssouf, Soulaimana Malaga, Adrine Said Ali

Midfielders: Hachim El Haddad, Raidou Boina Bacar, Faouz Faidaidine Ali Athouman, Nabil Ali Mchangama, Fasoiha Goula Soilihi, Nassim Ali

Forwards: Batomanga Fadhula Corin, Chadhuli Mradabi, Ibouniyamine Soulaimana, Mohamed Youssouf, Ibroihim Youssouf