Bright names final squad for COSAFA Cup

Botswana coach David Bright has named his final 20-man squad for the 2018 COSAFA Cup to be staged in South Africa’s Limpopo province from the May 27-June 9.

Bright had to wait until Thursday, after the end of the Botswana Premier League season, to see which players are available and fit to go and compete at the annual regional showpiece.

As he mentioned a fortnight ago, the coach decided to take a youthful squad to the tournament, citing amongst his reasons the advantage of quick recovery by the youngsters as the games will be played within short period of time.

Bright also mentioned that this is an opportunity to expose the young players to the South African market.

“As you can see some of these young boys like Thatayaone Kgamanyane, Godiraone Modingwane and Eric Molefi, there is so much potential in them and I am giving them the opportunity to go and showcase their talent and win contracts with foreign club,” explained the Zebras coach.

All eyes will be on Kgamanyane, who finished as the top goalscorer in the domestic league. Another interesting prospect is Molefi, who had an impressive season with relegated Union Flamengo Santos and is ready to earn his first cap for the senior team

Botswana starts their Group B campaign on Monday against Angola at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium, followed by Malawi and Mauritius on May 20 and June 1 respectively.

The winners of the group will face champions Zimbabwe in the quarterfinals

Botswana squad:

Goalkeepers:Mwampule Masule (Township Rollers), Goitseone Phoko (Gaborone United), Bophelo Kealeboga (Miscellaneous)

Defenders:Lesenya Ramoraka (Orapa United), Tshepo Maikano, Alphonse Modisaotsile, Thatayaone Ditlhokwe (All Gaborone United), Lesego Kereedilwe (Miscellaneous), Thato Kebue (Jwaneng Galaxy), Katlego Masole (Police XI)

Midfielders:Kabelo Seakanyeng, Thatayaone Kgamanyane, Karabo Phiri (All Gaborone United), Kobamelo Kebaikanye (Orapa United), Gape Mohutsiwa (Township Rollers), Eric Molefi (Union Flamengo Santos), Gilbert Baruti (Jwaneng Galaxy), Godiraone Modingwane (Security Systems)

Strikers:Onkabetse Makgantai (Orapa United), Tumisang Orebonye (Gaborone United)