Bright announces youthful preliminary squad for COSAFA Cup

Botswana national team coach Major David Bright has named a 30-man preliminary squad for the 2018 COSAFA Cup to be staged in South Africa’s Limpopo Province from May 27(June 9.

The squad, released on Wednesday, consists mainly of youngsters with Bright having to ponder his selections due to the unavailability of Township Rollers players who will be involved in CAF Champions League assignments.

Bright has called on a couple of young boys from the national Under-20 side, bringing in the likes of captain Resaobaka Thatanyane, left-back Kitso Benson Mangolo, and other new new faces in the form of Black Forest striker Molaodi Tlhalefang and Eric Molefhi of Union Flamengo Santos.

Sharps Shooting Stars duo Langa Mabuli and Letlhogonolo Chenjela also made their maiden selection for The Zebras squad.

The other core of the squad is made up of players who represented Botswana during the recent Zimbabwe Independence celebrations fixture.

Botswana has been drawn in Group B with Angola, Mauritius and Malawi and they will open their campaign against Angola on May 28 at the Old Peter Mokaba Stadium.

The second match for The Zebras will be against Malawi on May 30, followed by a final fixture against Mauritius two days later.

The group winners will face Zimbabwe in the quarterfinals.

Botswana preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers:Itumeleng Selapa (Black Forest), Goitseone Phoko (Gaborone United), Mwampule Masule (Township Rollers, Bophelo Kealeboga (Miscellaneous)

Defenders:Lesenya Ramoraka (Orapa United, Katlego Masole (Police XI, Tshepo Maikano (Gaborone United, Benson Kitso Mangolo (BDF XI, Lesego Kereedilwe (Miscellaneous, Thato Kebue (Jwaneng Galaxy, Tshepo Baipoledi (Morupule Wanderers, Thatayaone Ditlhokwe (Gaborone United)

Midfielders:Kabelo Seakanyeng (Gaborone United), Thatayaone Witness Kgamanyane (Gaborone United), Alphonse Modisaotsile (Gaborone United), Kobamelo Kebaikanye (Orapa United), Tebogo Sosome (Jwaneng Galaxy), Karabo Phiri (Gaborone United), Letlhogonolo Chenjela (Sharps Shooting Stars), Langa Mabuli (Sharps Shooting Stars), Gape Mohutsiwa (Township Rollers), Eric Molefi (Union Flamengo Santos), Gilbert Baruti (Jwaneng Galaxy), Godiraone Modingwane (Security Systems)

Strikers:Tumisang Orebonye (Gaborone United), Onkabetse Makgantai (Orapa United), Resaobaka Thatanyane (Miscellaneous), Boipelo Oaitse (Gaborone United), Molaodi Tlhalefang (Black Forest)

By Kagiso Kgaogano