Zebras interim coach names his provisional squad

Botswana coach Mogomotsi Mpote has named his squad for African Nations Cup qualifier against Angola which will be played on March 23 at Francistown Complex.

Mpote has selected a youthful squad with Botswana already eliminated from the qualifiers. The team will report on Sunday for camp.

Back in the mix is Omaatla Kebatho, who is currently having a quiet season, and Lebogang Ditsile, who was dropped by former coach David Bright.

Botswana is perched at the bottom in their Group with only a point and are yet to win a game.


Goalkeepers: Keeagile Kgosipula (Township Rollers), Ezekiel Morake (Jwaneng Galaxy)

Defenders: Thatayaone Ditlhokwe (Township Rollers), Lesenya Ramoraka (Highlands Park), Fortune Thularo (Jwaneng Galaxy), Thato Kebue (Jwaneng Galaxy), Thabo Leinanyane (Jwaneng Galaxy), Kitso Mongolo (Jwaneng Galaxy), Mothusi Johnson (Orapa United), Alford Velaphi (Gaborone United)

Midfielders: Thero Setsile (Jwaneng Galaxy), Gape Mohutsiwa (Township Rollers), Lebogang Ditsele (Jwaneng Galaxy), Mpho Kgomo (Police XI), Phenyo Serameng (BDF XI), Gofaone Mabaaya (Orapa United), Segolame Boy (Township Rollers), Mothusi Cooper (Township Rollers), Gilbert Baruti (Jwaneng Galaxy), Brian Mankanku (Extension Gunners)

Strikers: Omaatla Kebatho (Orapa United), Tumisang Orebonye (Township Rollers), Onkabetse Makgantai (Baroka FC), Kitso Mpuisang (Prisons XI)

By Gaone Pearl Kerileng