Uganda submit preliminary squad for COSAFA Cup

Uganda have submitted a 34-man preliminary squad ahead of the 2019 COSAFA Cup, where the East African guest nation will debut in the Southern African championship in Durban from May 25-June 8.

The squad is to be led by Police FC coach Abdallah Mubiru and is made up entirely of locally-based players, many from SC Villa, Vipers and KCCA.

The group will be trimmed down to the required 22 players ahead of the tournament, with some players potentially joining another selection that is building towards the Africa Cup of Nations in Egypt.

Included is FUFA Footballer of the Year Moses Waiswa, as well as highly-rated forward Bashir Mutanda.   All will have the opportunity to push for a place in the Afcon squad, which only needs to be finalized after the COSAFA Cup finishes in South Africa.

Uganda have a bye through to the quarterfinals in Durban, where they will take on Lesotho at the Princess Magogo Stadium on June 1.

The Cranes met Lesotho in the recent Afcon qualifiers, claiming a 3-0 home win and collecting a 2-0 success on the road.    The winner of that tie will face either hosts South Africa or Botswana in the semifinals, while the losers drop into the Plate competition.

Lesotho have finished third at the COSAFA Cup at the last two tournaments.


Uganda preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Keni Saidi, Charles Lukwago, James Alitho

Defenders: Jack Komakech, Paul Willa, Mustafa Kizza, John Revita, Paul Mbowa, Isaac Isinde, Hassan Musana, Fillibert Obenchan, Timothy Awanyi, Halid Lwaliwa, Mustafa Mujuzi

Midfielders: Ivan Eyamu, Muzamiru Mutyaba, Shafik Kagimu, Nicholas Kasozi, Juma Sadam Ibrahim, Tadeo Lwanga, Allan Okello, David Owori, Anukani Bright, Moses Waiswa

Forwards: Bashir Mutanda, Paul Mucuurezi, Nelson Senkatuka, Allan Kayiwa, Daniel Muzeyi Serunkuma, Michael Birungi Komunda, Allan Kyambadde, Juma Balinya, Patrick Henry Kaddu, Joel Madondo