Uganda name final squad for COSAFA Women’s Under-17 Championships

Uganda coach Ayub Khalifa has named his final squad for the 2019 COSAFA Women’s Under-17 Championship that will be staged in Mauritius from September 20-29.   Khalifa put the players through a rigorous training regime before settling on his final 20 names, that he hopes will help the East African side to take the title this month.

Uganda are seeking to emulate fellow East Africans Tanzania, who lifted the recent the 2019 COSAFA Women’s Under-20 Championship in South Africa, becoming the first guest nation to take home a COSAFA trophy.   Khalifa has chosen striker Juliet Nalukenge as skipper of the side, and says they are entering the final phase of readiness for the competition.

“We are currently focused on final preparations for the final team,” he told reporters. “Our focus is on movement on the pitch and their energy levels. We are also focusing on trying to score more goals because we have not been scoring enough.”

The team has been based at the Njeru Technical Centre and won practise matches against Kampala Select (2-1) and a FUFA Women Elite League Select team (3-1). The team will leave for Mauritius on Wednesday.   Uganda have been drawn in Group A at the COSAFA Women’s Under-17 Championship and will play in the opening match of the tournament against Zambia on Sept. 20.

They will then feature against hosts Mauritius two days later, before closing out their pool play against Comoros in Sept. 24.

Uganda squad:

Goalkeepers: Nyayenga Daphine (Uganda Martyrs HS), Namusisi Joan (Mukono HS) and Nasasira Gift (Gadafi Integrated)

Defenders: Akadinda Gilian (Olila HS), Atwine Precious (Upper Hill College), Musubika Stella (Kawempe Muslim SS), Akiror Patricia (Masaka SS) and Adokole Bira (Amus College) 

Midfielders: Namaganda Zaitun (Taggy HS), Komuntale Sumayah (King of Kings), Nadunga Bira (Olila HS), Nakachwa Kevin (Uganda Martyrs HS), Nangonzi Maureen (Mukono HS) and Nakachwa Samali (Kawempe Muslim SS)

Forwards: Nalukenge Juliet (Kawempe Muslim SS), Najjemba Fauzia (Mukono HS), Nagadya Catherine (Katuuso Community SS), Kunihira Margret (Kawempe Muslim SS), Nyinagahirwa Shakira (Kawempe Muslim SS) and Nandago Hadijah (Kawempe Muslim SS)