The history of the COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championship

The 2020 COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championships are set to light up Nelson Mandela Bay from December 3-13 in what will be the latest installment of the vital regional tournament that has been a breeding ground for so much Southern African talent down the years.

The competition will also act as a zonal qualifier for the 2021 Africa Under-20 Cup of Nations, with the two finalists set to advance to the continental showpiece that is scheduled for Mauritania.

Zambia will be eager to retain the title they won last year on home soil, as fans get to see potentially a new batch of young stars from the Southern African region.

In that regard, the COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championship is vital and has played its part in developing some of the brightest stars from the region in its many guises down the years.

Running through the list of past stars to grace the finals, it reads like a Who’s Who of Southern African football and all will have benefitted from the exposure they got to top level competition.

From a South African perspective, the likes of Itumeleng Khune, Lerato Chabangu, Daine Klate, Elrio van Heerden and Lebohang Mokoena all represented their country at this level and gone on to forge successful club and international careers.

Other young stars such as Clifford Mulenga and Isaac Chansa (both Zambia), Tinashe Nengomasha and Onismor Bhasera (both Zimbabwe), as well as Jimmy Zakazaka (Malawi), have used the tournament to persuade clubs outside of their country that they have a bright future in the game.

The tournament was first played in 1983, but was a little-recognised get-together of a few of the stalwarts of the region, including Zimbabwe, Zambia, Malawi and Botswana.

The Apartheid practices of South Africa at the time meant they were excluded, and the country only entered the fray for the first time in 1993.

Those early years were dominated by the ‘Two Zs’, with Zambia winning six and Zimbabwe three of the first nine tournaments held.

South Africa were the first team to break the mould when they triumphed in 2000, having been losing finalists in 1995 and 1999.

A year earlier, in 1999, they had taken over the hosting of the event, which before then had been spread around the region. Each tournament up until 2009 was held in the Rainbow Nation, but the winners were less easy to predict.

Madagascar became only the fourth country to win the event when they surprisingly triumphed in 2005, beating shock finalists Lesotho 1-0 in the final.

Before Lesotho three years ago, the previous two installments, in 2010 and 2011, were hosted by Botswana, with Zambia extending their winning streak to three with success in both.

They added an 11th title in 2016 when they romped through the competition, defeating hosts South Africa 2-1 in the final.

South Africa regained the trophy in 2017 though after Zambia surprisingly exited in the pool stages.

And they won again in 2018, this time defeated Zimbabwe in the final after a tense penalty shoot-out.

But Zambia are always in contention and they fairly romped to the title on home soil in 2019, defeating old enemy South Africa 3-0 in the decider to complete an excellent tournament.

But more than lifting the trophy, the comeptition is about developing the talent of tomorrow and giving young players the chance to tackle their peers in a highly-competitive environment that should help to prepare them for the challenges of senior international football.


1983    Zambia
1985    Zimbabwe
1986    Zambia
1988    Zimbabwe
1990    Zimbabwe
1993    Zambia
1995    Zambia
1997    Zambia
1999    Zambia
2000   South Africa
2001    Zimbabwe
2002   Zimbabwe
2003   Zambia
2004   South Africa
2005   Madagascar
2006   South Africa
2007   Zimbabwe
2008   South Africa
2009   South Africa
2010   Zambia
2011    Zambia
2013   South Africa
2016   Zambia
2017   South Africa
2018   South Africa
2019   Zambia

11 –
8 – South Africa
6 – Zimbabwe
1 – Madagascar