Sunzu earns Zambia recall for Afcon qualifiers

Stoppila Sunzu, who helped Zambia to win the Africa Cup of Nations more than a decade ago, has been recalled to his country’s squad for their qualifier against the Ivory Coast on June 17 as coach Avram Grant named his squad.

There is also a first callup for Francisco Mwepu, the younger brother of Enock Mwepu, who was forced to give up his career last year after a heart complaint.

The younger Mwepu has caught the eye at Spanish club Cadiz and last weekend made his first team debut in the LaLiga clash against Villarreal just over a week ago.

Sunzu, who will turn 36 this month, was in the line-up that edged the Ivory Coast on penalties in the 2012 final in Libreville.

Grant has named 29 players for the Group H clash at Ndola but Danish based forward Edward Chilufya and Benson Sakala, who is based in the Czech Republic, have both been ruled out because of injury.

The Ivorians top the group with 10 points but as hosts have already qualified for next January’s finals while the Zambians are one behind and need a single point from their remaining two qualifiers to book their place. Zambia are to train in South Africa ahead of the clash on home soil.


Goalkeepers: Victor Chabu (Nchanga Rangers), Lawrence Mulenga (Power Dynamos), Toaster Nsabata (Sekhukhune United, South Africa)

Defenders: Dominic Chanda (Kabwe Warriors), Benedict Chepeshi (Red Arrows), Kelvin Kapumbu (Zesco United), Aime Mabika (Toronto FC, Canada), Golden Mafwenta (MFK Vyskov, Czech Republic), Samson Mkandawire (Zesco United), Gift Mphande (Atletico Lusaka), Frankie Musonda (Ayr United, Scotland), Pride Mwansa (Nkwazi), Tandi Mwape (TP Mazembe, DR Congo), Stoppila Sunzu (Jinang Xingzhou, China)

Midfielders: Emmanuel Banda (HNK Rijeka, Croatia), Lameck Banda (Lecce, Italy), Rally Bwalya (AmaZulu, South Africa), Clatous Chama (Simba, Tanzania), Roderick Kabwe (Sekhukhune United, South Africa), Kelvin Kampamba (Zesco United), Kings Kangwa (Red Star Belgrade, Serbia), Patson Kwataine (Mufulira Wanderers), Gamphani Lungu (SuperSport United, South Africa), Lubambo Musonda (Horsens, Denmark)

Forwards: Patson Daka (Leicester City, England), Andrew Phiri (FC MUZA), Kennedy Musonda (Young Africans, Tanzania), Francisco Mwepu (Cadiz, Spain), Fashion Sakala (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland).