South Africa, Zambia clash in COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championship final!

Defending champions South Africa will meet hosts Zambia in the final of the 2019 COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championships after both won their semifinal matches at the Nkoloma Stadium on Thursday.

South Africa edged Madagascar on penalties after a 2-2 draw, while Zambia defeated Angola 3-0 in the other semifinal.

Zambia, who will seek a first victory in the competition since 2016, eased past Angola as two goals from Patrick Gondwe set them on their way. The prolific Francisco Mwepu added a third for what was a comprehensive victory.

South Africa sealed their place in the final with a thrilling comeback after they had gone 2-0 down to Madagascar in the first half.

They rallied for the draw and then claimed the penalty shoot-out 5-4 to seal a fourth consecutive visit in the final.

Madagascar took the lead through Aristide Ranaivo Harison and it was 2-0 just before the half-hour mark as they deservedly increased their advantage when Randianantenaina Arnaud netted a 25-yard free-kick.

South Africa pulled a goal back when the excellent Oswin Appollis beat two defenders in the box, before placing a low shot in the bottom corner.

And with just a minute remaining on the clock in injury-time, he was able to make it 2-2 after drilled another low shot into the corner of the net to send the game to penalties.

South Africa scored all of their spot-kicks, with the Malagasy striking the crossbar with their fifth effort.

Zambia and South Africa clash in the final on Saturday at 15h00, with the latter seeking a hat-trick of titles after they claimed wins in 2017 and 2018.

The bronze-medal match between Madagascar and Angola will kick-off at 11h30.

The Player of the Tournament will also be announced after the. final, with the winner set to go on trial as Spanish second-tier side CD Numancia, an opportunity presented by COSAFA partner LaLiga.

Both games on Saturday will be played at the Nkoloma Stadium and you can follow all the action LIVE on COSAFATV by following this link.

General entrance tickets cost K10.00 and are valid for all matches played on the day. There is also a VIP option available for at a cost of K50.00. Tickets in both categories are on sale at Computicket in all Shoprite outlets nationwide.

South Africa 2
(Appollis 66’, 90’) Madagascar 2 (Ranaivo Harison 12’, Arnaud 29’) – SA won 5-4 on penalties

Zambia 3 (Gondwe 31’,76’, Mwepu 80’) Angola 0


Third-Place Play-Off
11h30 (09h30 GMT):
Madagascar vs Angola – Nkoloma Stadium

15h00 (13h00 GMT): South Africa vs Zambia – Nkoloma Stadium


Group A                     P          W        D         L          GF       GA       GD       Pts
Zambia (Q)               3          3          0          0          9          1          +8       9
3          1          1          1          7          4          +3       4
Botswana                  3          1          1          1          4          8          -4        4
Comoros                   3          0          0          3          1          8          -7        0

Group B                     P          W        D         L          GF       GA       GD       Pts
South Africa (Q)      3          2          1          0          10       1          +9       7
Madagascar  (Q)      3          2          1          0          6          2          +4       7
Mauritius                  3          0          1          2          3          9          -6        1
Lesotho                     3          0          1          2          2          9          -7        1


Group C                     P          W        D         L          GF       GA       GD       Pts
Angola (Q)               
3          3          0          0          13       1          +12     9
Eswatini                    3          2          0          1          5          4          +1       6
Mozambique            3          1          0          2          3          5          -2        3
Seychelles                 3          0          0          3          2          13       -11      0


Matches Played: 20
Goals scored: 72
Biggest victory: Angola 8 Seychelles 0 (Group C, December 4)
Most goals in a game: 8 – Angola 8 Seychelles 0 (Group C, December 4)


4 goals – Oswin Appollis (South Africa), Francisco Mwepu (Zambia), Ambrosini Salvador (Angola)

3 – Randianantenaina Arnaud (Madagascar), Tangu Gastão (Angola), Sinenjongo Mkiva (South Africa), Patrick Mwaungulu (Malawi)

2 – Miguèl Afonso (Angola), Tseliso Botsane (Lesotho), Phaza Chose (Botswana), Patrick Gondwe (Zambia), Romao Joao (Mozambique), Francisco Madinga (Malawi), Jimmy Mukeya (Zambia), Majahesibili Ndlovu (Eswatini), Aristide Ranaivo Harison (Madagascar)

1 – David Aristide (Mauritius), Ricky Banda (Zambia), Kelsun Brutus (Seychelles), Doctor David (Botswana), Fernando dos Santos (Angola), Brandon Fanchette (Seychelles), Lancaster Human (South Africa), Elliot Kampukesa (Zambia), Santos Kiaku (Angola), Kaone Kolagano (Botswana), Wenzile Lushaba (Eswatini), Golden Mafwenta (Zambia), Benedito Manjate (Mozambique), Chinsinsi Maonga (Malawi), Camilo Mbulu (Angola), Athenkosi Mcaba (South Africa), Raicardo Menakely (Madagascar), Rahim Milazi (South Africa), Keagan Mitchell (South Africa), Youssouf Mohamed (Comoros Islands), Percy Moutou (Mauritius), Melono Muondo Dala (Angola), Crawford Mwaba (Zambia), Lanjesi Nkhoma (Malawi), Steward Roussety (Mauritius), Keletso Sifama (South Africa), Rafizy Todisoa (Madagascar), Lindokuhle Zwane (Eswatini)