South Africa to compete in Cyprus tournament

Banyana Banyana have been invited to participate in the 11th edition of the Cyprus Women’s Cup, that takes place annually in Cyprus.

The tournament runs from 26 February to 7 March 2018, and involves 12 women’s national teams from around the world.

The matches are played in the cities of Nicosia, Paralimni and Larnaca – using six venues.

The competition has been held since 2008, and Switzerland are the current champions.

South Africa is no stranger to this tournament and will be making their sixth appearance – they were there in 2009 (6th position finish), 2010 (8th), 2012 (10th), 2013 (11th) and 2015 (10th).

For the 2018 edition, Banyana Banyana have been drawn in Group C alongside Hungary, Slovakia as well as Trinidad and Tobago.

In Group A, there Finland, Switzerland, Italy and Wales, while Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic and Spain are in Group B.
South Africa will face Slovakia in their opening match to be played on Wednesday, 28 February. Kickoff is at 13h00.

The next match will see Banyana Banyana taking on Hungary on Friday, 2 March at 18h00.

In the last group stage clash, South Africa will lock horns with Trinidad & Tobago on Monday, 5 March at 13h00.