South Africa aim to regain HOLLYWOODBETS COSAFA Women’s championship title

Best finish: Winners (2002, 2006, 2008, 2017, 2018, 2019, 2020)
FIFA Ranking: 45
CAF Ranking: 2
Last five tournaments:
2018 – Winners
2019 – Winners
2020 – Winners
2021 – Fourth
2022 – Runners-Up

Continental champions South Africa are seven-time winners of the HOLLYWOODBETS COSAFA Women’s Championship but will be looking to regain the title in 2023 after two years without success.

Since their 2021 triumph they have gone on to be crowned 2022 Women’s Africa Cup of Nations champions and excelled at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in what has been a golden period for the team.

They will be using this regional championship to expand their playing pool as coach Des Ellis does what she always does in COSAFA competition – gives local players the chance to stake a claim for more regular action.

South Africa have a storied history with the COSAFA Women’s Championship as comfortably the most successful side in the competition.

They stormed to the inaugural 2002 regional title, beating Zimbabwe 2-1 in the final as they won all five of their games, scoring 36 goals in the process. That included huge victories over Botswana (14-0) and Mozambique (13-0) in the pool stages.

It was more of the same in 2006 as they won both group stages games against Lesotho (9-0) and Malawi (3-0), before a 4-1 victory over Zimbabwe in the semifinals. They beat Namibia 3-1 in the final to pick up gold.

A clash of fixtures meant they sent an Under-20 side to the 2008 championships, but still won all of their games, including a 3-1 victory over hosts Angola in the final.

But their run was ended by hosts Zimbabwe in the decider in 2011, leaving them with a record of 26 wins from 29 games in the COSAFA Women’s Championships at that point.

They regained their title in 2017 as wins over Lesotho (3-0) and Namibia (3-1) saw them into the knockout stages, where they came from 3-0 down with 13 minutes remaining to draw 3-3 with Zambia and win on penalties. That set up a final with Zimbabwe, where South Africa ran out 2-1 winners.

They had to do it the hard way again in 2018 as wins over Madagascar (2-1), Botswana (1-0) and Malawi (6-0) in the pool stages were followed by a 2-0 success over East African guest nation Uganda in the semifinals and a 2-1 victory over Central African guests Cameroon in the decider.

A much-changed side took part in 2019 but still snatched the trophy as a tournament record 17-0 win over Comoros Islands was followed by further pool wins over Malawi (3-1) and Madagascar (3-0).

They defeated old enemy Zimbabwe 3-1 in the semifinals, before edging Zambia 1-0 in the decider.

They had a much-changed squad in 2020 but still breezed through their pool with three wins over Angola (2-0), Eswatini (5-0) and Comoros Islands (7-0), which set up a semifinal with Malawi that was won 6-2 after a goalless first half.

They took on Botswana in the final and got some revenge for having been knocked out of the 2020 Olympic Games qualifiers by The Mares as South Africa won 2-1 at the Nelson Mandela Bay Stadium.

The 2021 competition proved a major disappointment as the side beat Malawi in the pool stages and top their pool, but then lost to the SheFlames 3-2 in the semifinals in a shock result.

They played Zambia in the bronze-medal match but were defeated on post-match penalties when the game finished 1-1.

The team were hoping for better in 2022 and did return to the final, but lost 1-0 to Zambia in extra-time of the decider.