Seychelles coach names preliminary squad for COSAFA Castle Cup

Seychelles coach Ralph Jean-Louis has named a preliminary 27-man squad for the 2016 COSAFA Castle Cup that includes a number of stalwarts from previous editions.

Seychelles have been drawn in first round Group A alongside Zimbabwe, Swaziland and Madagascar in what is a tough pool.

They open their campaign with a meeting against the Malagasy in Windhoek on the first day of action of the June 11-25 tournament in Namibia.

Jean-Louis has retained seven players from the side that exited in the first round in 2015, including goalkeeper Vincent Euphrasie, defender Yanick Manoo, midfielder Karl Hall and lively forward Gervais Waye-Hive.

But the remainder of the side is made up of players looking to push for a more regular berth in the senior national team.

These include 20-year-old striker Dieter Constance, midfielder Colin Bibi and defender Fabio Lemiel.

Seychelles have only won one of their previous 16 COSAFA Castle Cup matches, but that was a 7-0 thrashing of Mauritius in 2008.

They did perform admirably in the COSAFA Castle Cup last year though, drawing 0-0 with eventual winners Namibia and suffering two narrow 1-0 loses to Zimbabwe and Mauritius.

Seychelles preliminary squad:

Goalkeepers: Vincent Euphrasie, Gino Melanie, Jerome Dingwall.

Defenders: Yanick Manoo, Andrew Onezia, Nelson Laurence, Joubert Jones, Benoit Marie, Fabio Lemiel, Allen Larue, Alex Nibourette, Jude Nancy.

Midfielders: Elvin Estico, Basil Bertin, Achille Henriette, Collin Esther, Karl Hall, Trevor Vidot, Colin Bibi, Karl Jerome, Lucas Panayi, Marlon Sophola, Dieter Constance.

Forwards: Dean Suzette, Leroy Coralie, Elijay Tamboo, Gervais Waye-Hive.