Sand kings Senegal bring gold potential to Durban

Senegal have been the undisputed kings of the sand in Africa since they claimed their first continental crown in 2008, and are a welcome addition to the field for the HOLLYWOODBETS COSAFA Beach Soccer Championship that is to be staged in Durban from September 25-October 1.

The side are preparing for the defence of their African crown that they have won in the last three editions of the competition, having claimed six gold medals overall in a stunning domination of the continental game.

Considering the next most successful side in Nigeria with two wins, it is easy to see that Senegal the are pre-eminent force in the sport.

They will use the COSAFA event for the Beach Soccer Africa Cup of Nations that will be held in Mozambique from October 21-30, so it will be of great importance to coach Mamadou Diallo as they have been drawn with Madagascar, Egypt and Uganda in the CAF event, the latter two also appearing in Durban.

“We do not have much information on Uganda but if they are present, it is because they deserve their place. We must respect them,” Senegal coach Mamadou Diallo told CAF Online.

“Egypt and Madagascar, we know they are great nations in beach soccer. But we are the champions of Africa, we will go to this competition with a lot of humility but telling ourselves that it is up to others to be afraid of us.”

Senegal will start their COSAFA campaign on Sunday against Mozambique, the team Diallo’s side beat in the final of the last continental competition which Senegal hosted in 2021.

After that they will meet hosts South Africa and then Seychelles in their final pool match. The top two teams in each group advance to the semifinals.

Senegal have also appeared at the FIFA Beach Soccer World Cup on eight previous occasions, achieving a best finish of fourth in 2021. The two editions before that they reached the quarterfinals and ended sixth, so this is a team that is competitive on the global stage.

The matches at the HOLLYWOODBETS COSAFA Beach Soccer Championship will be played at Durban’s South Beach Arena and will be streamed on COSAFA.TV, and also broadcast live on SuperSport and SABC Sport.

Did not participate

APP     MP      W        L          GF        GA
9          42        35        7          246      135

2007 – Second
2008 – Winners
2009 – Third
2011 – Winners
2013 – Winners
2015 – Second
2016 – Winners
2018 – Winners
2021 –