Radebe and McCarthy to help find new Bafana Bafana coach

Former Bafana Bafana greats Lucas Radebe and Benni McCarthy form part of the committee set up by the South African Football Association (SAFA) to urgently look and appoint the new Senior National Team coach.

The committee which also comprises of Farouk Khan, Buti Mathathe, Anna Nyman, Neil Tovey and Technical Committee chair Natasha Tsichlas will draw up a short list, deliberate it before naming the suitable candidate in coming days.

The SAFA President, CEO and Vice-President Elvis Shishana will also sit on the committee to oversee the process.

Radebe is a former Bafana Bafana long time captain who had a standout career at Leeds United, a then formidable English Premiership team which he captained with distinction.

McCarthy remains Bafana Bafana’s top goal scorer and has just completed his UEFA Pro A Coaching License and is among a few South African players that enjoyed distinguished careers overseas.

Khan is a renowned development coach while Mathathe is the chair of South African Football Legends.

“We want to have the process expedited as Bafana Bafana have a bumper 2017 season in which they need to compete and qualify on three fronts – namely CHAN, AFCON and the FIFA World Cup in Russia2018,” said SAFA President Dr Danny Jordaan.


  • Benni McCarthy
  • Lucas Radebe
  • Farouk Khan
  • Clive Barker
  • Buti Mathathe
  • Neil Tovey
  • Natasha Tsichlas
  • Elvis Shishana
  • Dennis Mumble
  • Danny Jordaan