Ntopwa win 2022 National FAM Women’s Championship

Ntopwa Women’s Football Team are the 2022 FAM National Women’s Championship winners after defeating the Lilongwe based side Ascent Academy 5-3 in post-match penalties at the Mpira Stadium.

After a goalless first half with wasted chances from both sides, Shabel Bengo broke the dead lock at 63 minutes through a well taken free kick. Ascent Academy however replied too quick through Rose Kabzere at 70th minute to put the matter at level until the final whistle and the fate was to be decided through the post-match penalties.

The Bangwe based side converted their spot kicks through, Fanny Magombo, Kondawu Banda, Moreen Kenneth, Olivia Phikani and Shabel Bengo. For Ascent Academy, Maggie Chavula, Rose Kabzere and Leticia Chinyamula converted their penalties while Atuweni Njilima’s penalty was caught by Ntopwa goalkeeper Mercy Sikelo.

Ascent Academy FC was unlucky to finish the game in the regulation time as they dominated the play from the onset of the game, however Ntopwa used the experience to punish the Lilongwe based side.

The winners have walked home with a trophy and MK3 million, runners up Ascent Academy MK1.5 million while FCB Nyasa Big Bullets FC Women’s team will get MK750,000 for finishing third and DD Sunshine finished 4th and will receive MK500,000.

In the Match for third place played earlier in the day, 2021 Champions Nyasa Big Bullets Women won the Bronze Medal after a 5-3 post-match penalty win over their fellow 2021 finalists DD Sunshine.

Vanessa Chikupira scored for the Maggie Chombo side at 45 minutes before Mphatso Gondwe’s equaliser at 59 minutes.

In individual awards, head coach for the Champions Ntopwa women club Isaac Jomo Osman is the best coach, Vanessa Chikupira of FCB Nyasa Big Bullets FC has won the golden boot accolade after scoring 11 goals.

Player of the tournament is Rose Kabzere of Ascent Academy FC who also scored an equaliser in the final. She has retained title as she was also named player of the tournament in the 2021 National Women’s Championship.

In media categories, Chifundo Zingunde of ALUSO Media has won the best photographer of the tournament, best electronic reporter is Mwakhele Kaliande of MIJ FM and Mavuto Kambuwe of Times Group has won best print award.

By Patuma Tonex