Nominees for COSAFA Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year Award

The nominees for the category of the Men’s Goalkeeper of the Year at the inaugural 2023 COSAFA Awards have been unveiled.

The winner will be announced at a gala awards ceremony in Durban on April 19, with a panel of judges from across the region having assessed their performances for the period of January 1 to December 31, 2023.

The judging covers their form for club and country. The three nominees are as follows (in alphabetical order):

Lloyd Kazapua (Chippa United & Namibia) –
Kazapua played a big role in helping Namibia to their 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualification, especially in the two fixtures against Cameroon in March 2023 when he was rock solid. He only conceded three goals in the five national team matches he played through the year. Was the first choice at Chippa United the season before but then gave up the number one jersey to Nigerian Stanley Nwabali. 

Lawrence Mulenga (Power Dynamos & Zambia) – Helped Power Dynamos to their first league title in Zambia in 12 years as they only conceded 19 goals in 34 games through the campaign. He also played a prominent role for Zambia in their 2023 Africa Cup of Nations qualification, which included a thumping 3-0 win over ivory Coast in which he kept a clean sheet.

Ronwen Williams (Mamelodi Sundowns & South Africa) – Was prominent for South Africa in helping them qualify for the 2023 Africa Cup of Nations and also played a major part in Mamelodi Sundowns’ domestic league and African Football League success in 2023. Kept 32 clean sheets in 49 appearances for Sundowns last year. He is also the captain of South Africa.


The judging panel from across the 14 member nations that make up COSAFA are renowned for their knowledge of Southern African football and are as follows:

Houssamidine Ben Ahmed (Comoros), Ivan Capuepue (Angola), Rob Delport (South Africa), Gerard Govinden (Seychelles), Peter Kanjere (Malawi), Jesse Kauraisa (Namibia), Kagiso Kgaogano (Botswana), Sibusiso Masilela (Eswatini), Sandra Mwila (Zambia), Boitelo Radebe (Lesotho), Heriniaina Samson (Madagascar), Benoit Thomas (Mauritius), Steve Vickers (Zimbabwe) and Raimundo Zandamela (Mozambique).