Namibia, Mozambique to contest COSAFA Cup 2015 final

Namibia and Mozambique booked their places in the final of the COSAFA Cup 2015 after a dramatic days of action at the Moruleng Stadium on Thursday.

Both teams netted late winners in two tense semifinal matches as eight goals were scored in the two games.

Namibia defeated Madagascar 3-2 thanks to a winner six minutes from time by Paul Shalulile, whose blushes were spared after he had earlier missed an open goal.

That match was 2-2 at the break as four goals were scored in 14 first half minutes, admittedly largely do you some poor defending.

Benson Shilongo netted a brace for Namibia, first putting them ahead on 18 minutes and then equalizing on 32.

He moved to the top of the scorers charts in the competition with four goals in as many matches.

In between Sarivahy Vombola took his tally for the competition to three with a brace as Madagascar hit the front, but could not stay there.

The second semifinal on Thursday was an equally exciting afaair as Mozambique triumphed 2-1 over Botswana.

After the teams turned with the score 0-0, the lively Isac Decarvalho gave Mozambique the lead on 65 minutes.

Botswana hit back through Omaatla Kebatho as he drilled a low equaliser into the net, but just when it seemed as though extra-time was in the offing, The Mambas struck again.

Substitute Luis Parkim headed home with two minutes remaining to give his side the win and a first COSAFA Cup final since 2008.

Friday sees the completion of the Plate competition when defending Cup champions Zambia take on Malawi at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace )kick-off 17h00 local, 15h00 GMT).

Zambia will be heavy favourites after their 3-0 demolition of Ghana in the semifinals of the Plate competition, but Malawi have shown plenty of fight to get this far and will not be an easy team to break down.

The Cup final will now be played on Saturday between Namibia and Mozambique at the Moruleng Stadium at 17h30 local time, while the third-place play-off between Botswana and Madagascar is at the same venue at 15h00.

Namibia 3 (Shilongo 18’, 32’, Shalulile 84’) Madagascar 2 (Vombola 22’, 27’)

Botswana 1 (Kebatho 78’) Mozambique 2 (Decarvalho 65’, Parkim 88’)

Malawi vs Zambia @ Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace (17h00 local, 15h00 GMT)
Group A                     P       W        D         L       GF      GA     Pts
Namibia                     3          2          1          0          6          1          7
Zimbabwe                 3          2          0          1          4          4          6
Mauritius                  3          1          0          2          1          4          3
Seychelles                 3          0          1          2          0          2          1
Group B                     P         W        D       L        GF       GA      Pts
Madagascar             3          2          1          0          5          2          7
Swaziland                 3          2          1          0          4          1          7
Lesotho                     3          1          0          2          2          4          3
Tanzania                   3          0         0          3          0         4          0

Matches Played: 20
Goals scored: 40
Biggest victory: Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21)
Most goals in a game: 5 – Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21); Namibia 3 Madagascar 2 (Semifinals, May 28)

4 goals – Benson Shilongo (Namibia)
 Michel Randriamanjaka (Madagascar), Sarivahy Vombola (Madagascar)
2 – Deon Hotto (Namibia)
1 – Talent Chawaphiwa (Zimbabwe), Ronald Chitiyo (Zimbabwe), Daniel Darkwah (Ghana), Isac Decarvalho (Mozambique), Omaatla Kebatho (Botswana), Chris Katjiukua (Namibia), Jeremea Kamela (Lesotho), Aaron Katebe (Zambia), Sifiso Mabila (Swaziland), Raphael Manuvire (Zimbabwe), Mthunzi Mkhontfo (Swaziland), Bornwell Mwape (Zambia), Limbikani Mzava (Malawi), Sabelo Ndzinisa (Swaziland), Luis Parkim (Mozambique), Lantonirina Rabehasinmbola (Madagascar), Martin Rakotoharimalala (Madagascar), Carlos Rusere (Zimbabwe), Peter Shalulile (Namibia), Xolani Sibandze (Swaziland), Olivier Simouri (Madagascar), Nathan Sinkala (Zambia), Jean-Pierre Sophie (Mauritius), Muhammad Sulumba (Malawi), Thapelo Tale (Lesotho), Sadney Urikhob (Namibia)
Own goals – Lucky Malata (Malawi), Limbikani Mzava (Malawi)