Malawi gather to prepare for upcoming internationals

Malawi’s locally-based players have started training at the Mpira Stadium in preparation for next month’s proposed COSAFA Cup and the back-to-back 2022 Africa Cup of Nations (AFCON) qualifiers against Burkina Faso in November.

Coach Meck Mwase previously named a 32-member squad, including 21 locally-based players, ahead of the forthcoming assignments.

Speaking after the first training session on Tuesday, Mwase said his panel will concentrate on lighter sessions and observe the players’ fitness levels during the first few days.

“The players have stayed for so long without playing football, so we are taking them into a gradual process because we want to concentrate on their physical fitness levels,” he said.

“We have so far started with some jogging and other ball exercises. We will continue observing them before we start the actual game training sessions.”

Malawi are in Group B of the 2022 AFCON qualifiers alongside Burkina Faso, South Sudan and Uganda.
The foreign-based players in the squad will link up with the team during the FIFA International window, that runs from October 7-15.

Malawi squad:

Goalkeepers: Brighton Munthali (Silver Strikers), Rabson Chiyenda (Nyasa Big Bullets), William Thole (Be Forward Wanderers), Ernest Kakhobwe (Nyasa Big Bullets)

Defenders: Stanley Sanudi (Be Forward Wanderers), Peter Cholopi (Be Forward Wanderers), Gomezgani Chirwa (Nyasa Big Bullets), Precious Sambani (Nyasa Big Bullets), Hadji Wali (Silver Strikers), Nickson Nyasulu (Nyasa Big Bullets)

Midfielders: Chimango Kaira (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chikoti Chirwa (Kamuzu Barracks), Raffick Namwera (Be Forward Wanderers), Duncan Nyoni (Silver Strikers), Peter Banda (Nyasa Big Bullets), Chimwemwe Idana (Nyasa Big Bullets), Isaac Kaliati (Be Forward Wanderers), Micium Mhone (Blue Eagles)

Strikers: Foster Biton (Silver Strikers), Vincent Nyangulu (Be Forward Wanderers), Hassan Kajoke (Nyasa Big Bullets)

Foreign-based players: Limbikani Mzava (Unattached), Gerald Phiri (Baroka FC, South Africa), Richard Mbulu (Baroka FC, South Africa), Gabadinho Mhango (Orlando Pirates, South Africa), John Banda (UD Songo, Mozambique), Charles Petro (FC Sheriff, Moldova), Schumaker Kuwali (UD Songo, Mozambique), Chawanangwa Kaonga (TS Sporting, South Africa), Francisco Madinga (FC Dila Gori, Georgia), Denis Chembezi (Polakwane City, South Africa), Yamikani Chester (Las Vegas Lights, USA)