Mafoso names Lesotho provisional squad for Under-20 Champs

Lesotho coach Bob Mafoso has announced his provisional squad of 26-players for the upcoming COSAFA Men’s Under-20 Championship to be staged in Lusaka, Zambia from December 4-14.

Mafoso, who will be heading into his second COSAFA Championship in charge of the Lesotho team, admitted that they had a disastrous campaign in 2018 having been eliminated in the group stage without registering a single victory.

His side failed to live-up to the expectations of 2017, where the Lesotho team went all the way to final while he was still working as the assistant coach to the experienced Leslie Notsi. The Mountain Kingdom country lost 2-1 to the then Thabo Senong coached South African side in the final.

“We want to improve on last year’s performance and get beyond the group stage though we know that it will not be easy. Last year was a bit difficult because I had just taken over the reins after an impressive run in the previous year, where the team reached the final,” Mafoso said.

“We had also assembled a group of new players and it was always going to be difficult for them to emulate the team that came before them. It was a learning curve for all of us.

“We have a better chance of doing well this year because half of the team we have now played in the 2018 edition of the tournament. They have a bit of international exposure, but we still need to prepare well to be able to reach our targets.”

Lesotho will know who they will face in the 2019 group stage when the draw is made for the tournament in Lusaka on Friday.

Lesotho provisional squad:

Goalkeepers: Motlatsi Sebapala, Khosholo Rasebetsane

Defenders: Shali Lekhotla, Thapelo Mohale, Thapelo Lebesa, Retselisitsoe Lekhula, Siyabonga Monyaka, Mokhetsi Tsotetsi, Itumeleng Leche, Tuntu Moroahae, Tebello Mosoeu.

Midfielders: Katleho Lefuthi, Katleho Rapuleng, Thabo Mohlala, Katiso Selili, Hlompho Ramanki, Percy Mohami, Rethabile Moroeroe, Relebohile Thulo, Tsele Rankhasa, Batlang Mokhele, Teboho Molematsela, Kananelo Rapuleng

Strikers: Moteloa Khemisi, Tseliso Botsane, Poloko Majota

By Mikia Kalati