Jwaneng Galaxy draw another South African side in Confederation Cup

Orlando Pirates and Jwaneng Galaxy were drawn together in the third round of the African Confederation Cup in all Cosafa tie that guarantees at least one club from southern Africa for the group phase of the competition in March.

Botswana’s Galaxy, having dropped down into the Confederation Cup after losing in the second round of the African Champions League against Mamelodi Sundowns, now meet a South African side for a second successive tie.

Pirates won a walkover into the third round when their Angolan opponents Sagrada Esperanca did not travel for their Confederation Cup second round, second leg tie on Wednesday.

Zimbabwe champions Platinum FC, who also fell out of the Champions League, drew Diaraf Dakar of Senegal while Angola’s Primero Agosto, who lost to Kaizer Chiefs in the Champions League this week, now take on Namungo of Tanzania.

Swaziland’s Young Buffaloes were handed a stiff task against former African champions Etoile Sahel of Tunisia.

Napsa Stars from Zambia, fresh from success over Mozambican opposition, must overcome Gor Mahia of Kenya if they are to compete in the group phase for the first time while compatriots Nkana FC face long trip to Tihad Casablanca of Morocco.

South Africa’s Bloemfontein Celtic will have to go to Nigeria again if they continue in the competition. They are waiting to find out whether they will be receive a walkover over after Nigerian authorities refused to allow them to avoid quarantine rules for their second round trip to Rivers United.

A decision will now be made by the Confederation of African Football disciplinary committee but if Celtic are handed a walkover they must the go through the whole process again against Enyimba.

The first legs will be played on February 14 with the return games one week later.

The aggregate winners advance to the group competition.

The full draw conducted in Cairo on Friday is:
Enyimba (Nigeria) v Rivers United (Nigeria) or Bloemfontein Celtic (South Africa)
Platinum FC (Zimbabwe) v Diaraf Dakar (Senegal)
Primiero Agosto (Angola) v Namungo (Tzanzaia)
Raja Casablanca (Morocco) v US Monastir (Tunisia)
CS Sfaxien (Tunisia) v AS Kigali (Rwanda)
Gor Mahia (Kenya) v Napsa Stars (Zambia)
Nkana FC (Zambia) v Tihad Casablanca (Morocco)
Bouenguedi Sport (Gabon) v Salitas FC (Burkina Faso)
Asante Kotoko (Ghana) v Entente Setif (Algeria)
Young Buffaloes (Swaziland) v Etoile Sahel (Tunisia)
AS Sonidep (Niger) v Coton Sport (Cameroon)
Al Ahli Benghazi (Libya) v DC Motema Pembe (DR Congo)
Stade Malien (Mali) v JS Kabylie (Algeria)
RC Abidjan (Ivory Coast) v Pyramids FC (Egypt)
Jwaneng Galaxy (Botswana) v Orlando Pirates (South Africa)
Renaissance Berkane (Morocco) walkover to the group stage