Fixtures released for 2023 HOLLYWOODBETS COSAFA Women’s Championship

The 2023 HOLLYWOODBETSBETS COSAFA Women’s Championship will be played between October 4-15 and while some finer details around venues are still being worked out, the fixtures have been released for the 12 competing teams.

All matches will be streamed live on FIFA+ and will also be available on SuperSport, giving a global audience the opportunity to follow the action.

The tournament will open with a Group A clash between Madagascar and Eswatini at 12h00 CAT on Oct. 4, followed by a meeting between hosts South Africa and Malawi at 15h30 CAT.

Group B starts the following day when Angola take on Comoros at 12h00 CAT and defending champions Zambia meet Mozambique at 15h30 CAT.

Zimbabwe make a welcome return to the competition with their first fixture on Oct. 6 against Lesotho at 12h00 CAT, before Namibia tackle Botswana at 15h30 CAT in the other match in Group C.

The group stages continue until the final round of matches on Oct. 11, before the semifinals are played two days later. The winners of Group A will play the best runner-up across the three pools, while the top two teams from Group B and Group C meet in the other semifinal.

The third-place playoffs will be staged at 12h00 CAT on Oct. 15, with the grand final on the same day at 15h30 CAT.

You can check out the full fixture list here, with venues to be added shortly.

It will be another exciting installment of the best regional women’s competition on the continent, with both Zambia and African champions South Africa having excelled at the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup in Australia and New Zealand.

The tournament will be excellent preparation for the second round of qualifiers for the Paris 2024 Olympic Games, with several COSAFA teams still involved in those.

Zambia take on Mali, Namibia face Morocco, Botswana clash with Tanzania and South Africa meet DR Congo in the next round of qualifiers that are set for late October.

South Africa have won seven of the previous 10 COSAFA Women’s Championships played, with Zimbabwe (2011), Tanzania (2021) and Zambia (2022) the other teams to lift the trophy.