Egypt bring wealth of experience to Durban

Egypt have appeared at every edition of the CAF Beach Soccer Cup of Nations and have qualified again for Mozambique 2022 but have yet to make the final of the continent’s premier competition.

That being the case they will still be one of the leading sides to watch at the HOLLYWOODBETS COSAFA Beach Soccer Championship that is to be staged in Durban from September 25-October 1.

There they have been drawn in a tough Group B that also includes Mauritius, who they play in their opener, Tanzania and Uganda, with the top two teams advancing to the semifinals.

This will be their COSAFA debut, but they have a long history of competing on the continent.

They played in the inaugural Beach AFCON in 2006 but lost 4-3 to Cameroon in the semifinals and finished third.

They missed out on the knockout rounds the following year but were in the semis again in 2008 when lightening struck twice. They were again beaten 4-3 by Cameroon.

Egypt were unfortunate 12 months later when, after an epic 8-8 semifinal with Ivory Coast, they lost the tie on penalties.

The Beach AFCON took a break for a year but when it returned in 2011, Egypt claimed the bronze medal. They lost to Senegal (2-4) in the semis but beat Madagascar on penalties in the third-place play-off after a 4-4 draw.

Egypt finished sixth at the next two tournaments in 2013 and 2015, but then took the bronze medal in the next two editions.

They lost to Senegal (2-5) in the 2016 semifinals before beating Morocco 4-1 to finish third, before going down 7-8 to Nigeria in the Last 4 in 2018 and again beating Morocco 3-2 for the bronze.

They did not make the semifinals in last year’s Beach AFCON, edged by the Moroccans in their pool, but finished fifth after beating Tanzania 4-2 in the playoff. Those two will have a rematch in Durban this year.

The matches will be played at Durban’s South Beach Arena and will be streamed on COSAFA.TV.


Did not participate


APP     MP      W        L          GF        GA
10        43        23        20        192      154

2006 – Third
2007 – Fifth
2008 – Fourth
2009 – Fourth
2011 – Third
2013 – Sixth
2015 – Sixth
2016 – Third
2018 – Third
2021 –