COSAFA Under-20 Championships draw set for Thursday

The draw for the 2017 COSAFA Under-20 Championships will be staged at COSAFA House in Johannesburg at 11h00 SAST on Thursday when the 12 competing nations will learn their fate at the regional showpiece.

Zambia will stage this year’s tournament with the competition scheduled for Kitwe between December 6-16, with the hosts also the defending champions.

Joining them in the pot for the draw are North African giants Egypt and East African nation Uganda, who appear in their first COSAFA Under-20 Championships as guest nations.

They will compete with six-time winners Zimbabwe, five-time champions South Africa, as well as Angola, Lesotho, Malawi, Mauritius, Mozambique, Namibia and Swaziland.

The format for the competition will be the same as the recently completed COSAFA Women’s Championship, in which the teams are spilt in three pools each containing four sides.

The countries play in a round-robin format, with three points for a win, one for a draw and zero for a loss.
The top side in each pool automatically advances to the semifinals, along with the best runner-up from the three groups.

The format then switched to a knockout phase to determine the winner.   If the teams are level on points and need to be separated, then the head-to-head record in matches between the sides will be used in the first instance.

You will be able to follow the draw on our Facebook and Twitter accounts, while members of the media are welcome to attend.