COSAFA Cup 2015 quarterfinal shocks continue!

The shocks continued in the COSAFA Cup 2015 quarterfinals as Ghana were ousted by Madagascar in Monday’s first match at the Royal Bafokeng Sports Palace.

Following on from exits for defending champions Zambia and hosts South Africa on Sunday, it was another major surprise at the tournament, where Mozambique earned their Last 4 spot with a penalties win over luckless Malawi.

It means Namibia will take on Madagascar in Thursday’s first semifinal, followed by Botswana against Mozambique.

There also will be a new champion in 2015 with none of the competition’s previous winners – Zambia, Zimbabwe, South Africa or Angola having made it to the semifinals.

The Plate semifinals will be played first on Wednesday though and there Zambia will tackle Ghana in a colossal tie, while South Africa meet Malawi.

Madagascar, who topped their first round Group B to reach the quarterfinals, took the game to Ghana and scored a brilliant opener when Michel Randriamanjaka netted his third of the competition with a free-kick.

Ghana hit back nine minutes later though when Daniel Darkwah’s speculative volley crept in past the Madgascar goalkeeper.

It looked as though the game would be headed for penalties before Olivier Simouri popped up with a contender for Goal of the Tournament to win the game for Madagascar.

His angled drive from range eluded the goalkeeper and nestled in the top corner.

The clash between Mozambique and Malawi had everything, including two own goals scored by the Flames!

Captain Lucky Malata put through his own net on 10 minutes to give Mozambique the lead, but Malawi had seemingly turned the game on its head when Muhammad Sulumba equalised with a superb header from a corner, and then Limbikani Mzava lashed home a penalty after a foul on John Banda.

That was in the final minute of the game, but there was still more drama when Mzava put the ball into his own net in injury-time and Mozambique forced the game to penalties.

After spurning one opportunity to win the shoot-out, Mozambique final did claim a 5-4 victory to put them into the semifinals.

Ghana 1 (Darkwah 37’) Madagascar 2 (Randriamanjaka 28’, Simouri 90’)

Mozambique 2 (Malata 10’og, Mzava 90’og) Malawi 2 (Sulumba 51’, Mzava 90’pen) – Mozambique win 5-4 on pens
Zambia vs Ghana @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium (17h00 local, 15h00 GMT)

South Africa vs Malawi @ Royal Bafokeng Stadium (19h30 local, 17h30 GMT)


Group A                     P       W        D         L       GF       GA     Pts
                     3          2          1          0          6          1          7
Zimbabwe                 3          2          0          1          4          4         6
Mauritius                  3          1          0          2          1          4          3
Seychelles                 3          0          1          2          0          2          1
Group B                     P        W        D         L       GF      GA     Pts
Madagascar             3          2          1          0          5          2          7
Swaziland                 3          2          1          0          4          1          7
Lesotho                     3          1          0          2          2          4          3
Tanzania                   3          0          0          3          0         4         0

Matches Played: 16
Goals scored: 29
Biggest victory: Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21)
Most goals in a game: 5 – Namibia 4 Zimbabwe 1 (Group A, May 21)

3 goals – Michel Randriamanjaka (Madagascar)
2 – Deon Hotto (Namibia), Benson Shilongo (Namibia)
1 – Talent Chawaphiwa (Zimbabwe), Ronald Chitiyo (Zimbabwe), Daniel Darkwah (Ghana), Chris Katjiukua (Namibia), Jeremea Kamela (Lesotho), Sifiso Mabila (Swaziland), Raphael Manuvire (Zimbabwe), Mthunzi Mkhontfo (Swaziland), Limbikani Mzava (Malawi), Sabelo Ndzinisa (Swaziland), Lantonirina Rabehasinmbola (Madagascar), Martin Rakotoharimalala (Madagascar), Carlos Rusere (Zimbabwe), Xolani Sibandze (Swaziland), Olivier Simouri (Madagascar), Jean-Pierre Sophie (Mauritius), Muhammad Sulumba (Malawi), Thapelo Tale (Lesotho), Sadney Urikhob (Namibia), Sarivahy Vombola (Madagascar)
Own goals – Lucky Malata (Malawi), Limbikani Mzava (Malawi)