Angola name squad for COSAFA Under-20 Championships

Angola coach Augusto Manuel has named his squad for the country’s latest bid for regional glory in the 2017 Mopani Copper Mines COSAFA Under-20 Championships to be played in Zambia from December 6-16.

Angola have enjoyed good success at senior level in the region, but have yet to lift the Under-20 crown, which is something of a surprise given the rich amount of talent the country has been able to produce over the years.

Manuel has selected a squad with one eye on the 2019 African Youth Championships, as so has a young side to select from.   These include 16-year-old defender José Venancio De Oliveira, and another six players who are aged 17.

One of those is goalkeeper João Bunga Eduardo, who actually played for Angola as a 15-year-old at the 2016 COSAFA Castle Cup in Namibia, the championship for senior national teams.

Angola have been drawn in Group C at the 2017 COSAFA Under-20 Championships along with Zimbabwe, Namibia and Lesotho.

Angola begin their campaign against the Namibians on December 6 at the Arthur Davies, before a clash with Zimbabwe at the Nkana Stadium three days later. They close their pool play with a fixture against Lesotho, also at Nkana, on December 11.

The country have appeared in four finals of the Under-20 tournament in the past, losing three in a row between 2000 and 2002, and then again in 2011 when they went down 2-1 to Zambia.

Angola finished top of their pool in the 2016 COSAFA Under-20 Championships with two wins and a draw, but lost 5-0 in the semifinals against South Africa and finished the competition in fourth place after a loss on penalties to guest side DR Congo in the bronze-medal match.

Angola have always be known as a fine producer of young talent, many of whom make their way to Portugal and other parts of Europe.

Angola squad:

Goalkeepers: João Bunga Eduardo, Nsesani Emanuel Simão, Ugusto Monteiro Mualucano

Defenders: Francisco Franco Cachiquala, Pedro Correia Alves, Joaquim Marcos Cunga Balanga, Fernando Jacinto Quissanga, Jorge Mateia Sacalumbo, Paulo Kiela Bravo, José Venancio De Oliveira

Midfielders: Manuel João Miguel Da Costa, Fernando Mateus Duarte, Calebi Mateta Yanda, Zinadine Zidane Moisés Catraio, Costantino Carlos António, Pedro Domingos Agostinho, Jaredi Lopes Teixeira, José Panzo Afonso

Strikers: Jelson António João Mivo, Gaspar Necas Fortunato, Jaime Cassule, António Adilson Quintas